Conservation Board, Department and Staff

LCCB 2017
LCCB 2017
Conservation Board, Staff, and Board of Supervisors
Wickiup Hill Outdoor Learning Area

booth at Downtown Farmers Market


Our Vision: To improve community through people, parks, trails and open space. 

Our Mission: protect natural resources; promote health and wellness; strengthen safety and security: support economic development; increase environmental awareness; provide outdoor recreational experiences; foster human development; and strengthen community image and sense of place.


Linn County Conservation Board members are appointed by the Linn County Board of Supervisors to staggered five-year terms.  The current Board includes:

Hillary Hughes, ​President
Steve Emerson, Vice President
Cindy Burke, Secretary
George Kanz, Member

John Hanson, Member

Conservation Board meetings are usually held the fourth Monday of each month at 12 p.m. at Wickiup Hill Learning Center in Toddville (10260 Morris Hills Rd) and are open to the public.

Click here for Conservation Board Agendas and Minutes
scroll down to "County Conservation Board"

The Iowa State Legislature passed the  County Conservation Law in 1955.   That law, Chapter 350 of the Code of Iowa, gave counties the ability to create a county conservation board.  The program is intended to acquire, develop, maintain, and make available museums, parks, preserves, recreational centers, forests, wildlife and other conservation areas, in order to promote the health and general welfare of the people, encourage the conservation of natural resources, to cultivate good citizenship by providing programs of public recreation and for participation in watershed, drainage, and floor control programs for the purpose of increasing the recreational resources in the county.

​The Linn County Conservation Board was established by popular vote in 1958.  The role of the Conservation Board is to provide general oversight and make policy decisions to direct the conservation program.


Dennis Goemaat, Executive Director
Daniel Gibbins, Deputy Director 

Linn County Conservation Department has a staff of 3​6 people who are responsible for all 7,000+ acres and 28 areas.  The county is divided into three districts: Wapsipinicon District,  North Cedar District, and South Cedar District.  Each district has a resource manager (park ranger), assistant resource manager, and resource technicians. The administrative team supports reservations, accounts payable, and special programs.  The Natural Resources team and the Services team supports the entire county.  The Conservation Education team works at various places throughout the county, but is located at the Wickiup Hill Learning Center.   


To contact the Linn County Conservation Department, call 319-892-6450 or email          

Media inquiries:    

Ryan Schlader
Community Outreach, Linn County Conservation
(319) 892-6452