Wickiup Hill Learning Center

Start:
RadDatePicker
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
End:
RadDatePicker
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
Date / TimeEventCategory
Data pager
Data pager
Page size:
PageSizeComboBox
select
 38 items in 2 pages
May 28 Tuesday 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM WICKIUP THROUGH THE SEASONS WITH FRANK OLSEN
See the beautiful things you may have missed, that grow at Wickiup Hill!
Programs
Jun 1 Saturday 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM CRITTER CATCH
Help us celebrate the vital importance of invertebrates to our ecological, economic, and social health.
Programs
Jun 5 Wednesday 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM TRACKS AND SCAT
Explore and investigate tracks, scat, and other animal signs.
Programs
Jun 7 Friday 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM Fresh Air Fridays - Summer Series
Join us on Fridays for fun family-friendly pop-up events at great park locations around Linn County.
Programs
Jun 8 Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM Creek Study and You
Get your hands and feet wet as we dip into a creek study!
Other Location
Jun 11 Tuesday 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM Where the Wild Things Are
Explore, discover, and connect with nature in fun imaginative ways! Learn about wild canines like coyotes and wolves as well as other species and their adaptations.
Youth Camps
Jun 13 Thursday 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM Science for Squirts: Amphibian Adventure 10 AM
From slimy frogs to bumpy toads, our preschoolers will explore the diverse and captivating world of these unique creatures.
Programs
Jun 13 Thursday 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM Science for Squirts: Amphibian Adventure 1 PM
1 PM From slimy frogs to bumpy toads, our preschoolers will explore the diverse and captivating world of these unique creatures.
Programs
Jun 15 Saturday 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM Paddles in the Pool - Intro to Kayaking, Marion
Learn your paddle strokes and so much more to help improve your kayaking experiences.
Other Location
Jun 17 Monday 6:30 PM - 8:00 PM Family Pond Study
Dip a net in the pond and let's just see what you can find!
Programs
Jun 18 Tuesday 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM Outdoor Expedition
Wickiup Hill is your playground during this fun treasure hunt! Work together to make discoveries as we search the trails for clues that will lead us closer to the final treasure. Ages 8-12.
Youth Camps
Jun 20 Thursday 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM Fuzzy, Furry, Slimy, Scaly
Explore the group of animals called vertebrates, comparing the birds, mammals, reptiles, amphibians, and fishes!
Other Location
Jun 20 Thursday 2:00 PM - 7:00 PM Summer Solstice Celebration
Join us in welcoming the true first day of summer and the longest day of the year: the summer solstice. We have a day of summer fun planned with activities for all ages.
Special Events
Jun 22 Saturday 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM Slithery Serpents
Learn, touch, and feel non-venomous Iowa snakes!
Programs
Jul 3 Wednesday 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM Box Turtle Safari
Take an expedition to the natural habitats of box turtles.
Programs
Jul 4 Thursday Kids Fishing Derby at Riverside Park in Central City
Free fishing event for kids!
Other Location
Jul 5 Friday 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM Fresh Air Fridays - Summer Series
Join us on Fridays for fun family-friendly pop-up events at great park locations around Linn County.
Programs
Jul 6 Saturday 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM Meet the Hissing Cockroach Squad
All ages are invited to meet and learn about the intriguing world of hissing cockroaches.
Programs
Jul 8 Monday 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM FIRE KEEPERS
In this hands-on basic fire-building class, you will build fires using ferrocerium rods, magnesium shavings, and char cloth.
Programs
Jul 9 Tuesday 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM Archery Art
We are combining archery and art in creative ways! Ages 8-12.
Youth Camps
Jul 11 Thursday 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM Bug Box Build
Create your own bug box to take home and then go on an insect-catching adventure at Wickiup Hill or in your own backyard.
Programs
Jul 15 Monday 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM Nature's Superheroes
Discover the wonders of nature and which adaptations or “superpowers” help our amazing plants and animals thrive! Ages 8-12.
Youth Camps
Jul 16 Tuesday 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM Mother Natures Fireworks
This family friendly firefly catch, release and observation program teaches about this mysterious insect with views up close on our trails near the Wickiup Hill Learning Center.
Programs
Jul 17 Wednesday 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM Camp Talon
Meet live birds of prey and learn about some of the amazing birds of Iowa. Ages 8-12.
Youth Camps
Jul 18 Thursday 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM Amphibian Kingdom
Our little explorers will embark on an exciting journey as they discover the wonders of amphibians.
Programs